Prisma

Yesterday, I downloaded Prisma onto my Android Smartphone, there are 43 different filters which can dramatically transform my photos. The technology is described as “A Neural Algorithm of Artistic Style”.

I am quite impressed with some of the results.

I take my granddaughter to school in the mornings, so as I took her, I played with my new app…

I have had the app less than 24 hours but I’ve already made over 100 images, it is easy and fun to use plus it was free to download.

ana-bubble-gum-3

this one (called Curly Hair) gives a drawing effect

Some filters imitate famous artists like Munch, Mondrian, Hokusai or Roy Lichtenstein others are just bespoke filters of the app.

The app was created by Alexey Moiseenkov and uses artificial intelligence in a way I cannot grasp.

I can take a photo and apply the filter or download old photos to my phone to be Prismatised.

ana-with-wings-2

ford-gt-racer-5

I might use this with my diecast blog

demolition2

Demolition in the Old Town

metro-carriage-7

This gives the Metro Carriage a Renoir-look (the filter was called “Dancers in Blue”)

I can see I am going to have a lot of fun with this app in the days ahead.

6 comments

  1. I have heard that one if the conditions of using Prisma is that they have ownership of your photos. You may want to check that out. I like the curly hair one, and you matchbox.

    1. I’ve had a look at Prisma’s terms of service….this paragraph seems the most relevant:
      “Prisma does not claim ownership of any Content that you post on or through the Service. Instead, you hereby grant to Prisma a non-exclusive, fully paid and royalty-free, transferable, sub-licensable, worldwide license to use the Content that you stylize on or through the Service, subject to the Service’s Privacy Policy, available here http://prisma-ai.com/privacy/, including but not limited to sections 3 (“Sharing of Your Information”) and 4 (“How We Store Your Information”). Some of the Service is supported by advertising revenue and may display advertisements and promotions, and you hereby agree that Prisma may place such advertising and promotions on the Service or on, about, or in conjunction with your Content. The manner, mode and extent of such advertising and promotions are subject to change without specific notice to you.”

Please comment, all comments gratefully received

