Books Read in 2014

I read around 50 books in 2014, mostly in English, four in French and a few books for children in Georgian. Over 16 000 pages in total.

"Istanbul" by Orhan Pamuk

“Istanbul” by Orhan Pamuk

I tried to review each book I read for this blog. The highlights for me were the following (the links are to my reviews):

“Cathedral of the Sea” by Ildefonso Falcones

“The Man from St. Petersburg” by Ken Follett

Where are the Children? by Mary Higgins-Clark

“Istanbul: Memories of a City” by Orhan Pamuk

“The Brief Wondrous Life of Oscar Wao” by Junot Diaz

“Alone in Berlin” by Hans Fallada

“Dumb Witness” by Agatha Christie

“A Morbid Taste for Bones” by Ellis Peters

I also managed to read some classics that had been on my “to read list” for a very long time like “Middlemarch” by George Eliot, “One Hundred Years of Solitude” by Gabriel Garcia Marquez, “Homage to Catalonia” by George Orwell and “Hard Times” by Charles Dickens.

There were, a few books, I wished I hadn’t bothered with, usually I will put down a book if I haven’t got into it by the fiftieth page but I persevered with “E is for Evidence (Sue Grafton), “Ratner’s Star” by Don DeLillo, “Nutcase” by Charlotte Hughes and “A Hero of our Time” by Mikhail Lermontov. I regret the time spent on these books I didn’t enjoy.

I’ll see if I can read another 50 in 2015, and try to include some in Georgian….

3 comments

    1. The ones I gave the links for were all 5 out of 5 by my ratings. I think, if I had to choose one it would be Orhan Pamuk’s “Istanbul” but it would depend on my mood at the time.

Please comment, all comments gratefully received

