Georgian Lesson 2

Four and a half years I have lived in Georgia. Georgian is very different from the European languages I know (French, Spanish, German or English).  I lived in France for six years and after two years I was reasonably fluent in the language. I thought Georgian would be similarly acquired but that isn’t the case. It will require some effort on my part and I am lazy.

Georgian lesson 2 : დალევა / სმა

Georgian lesson 2 : დალევა / სმა

I’ve been reading a few children’s books in Georgian, and translating them with the help of Khato (my lovely Georgian wife), a small Georgian English dictionary and Google Translate.

I asked Khato for lessons and marked 5 hours in the week when we could meet for lessons. The first lesson was on Tuesday 18 March, it took place in the kitchen and included phrases like:

ხათო თლის კარტოფილს    Khato peels potatoes

ხათო რეცხავს კარტოფილს  Khato washes potatoes

ხათო ჭრის კარტოფილს  Khato cuts potatoes

ხათო წვავს კარტოფილს  Khato fries potatoes

Talking with Charlie, a teaching colleague at the French school on Wednesday, I asked him for some suggestions for learning Georgian. He is an American who has been in Georgia for a much shorter time than me but gets by in Georgian.

He told me he’d take a verb and write it down in the various cases.  He also said it was better to use Georgian characters from the outset than using Georgian transcribed with Roman letters.

So for my next lesson that’s what I did.

I took the verb სმა or  დალევა (if someone Georgian can tell me the difference between the two I’d be grateful) meaning drink and got Khato to show me how it conjugated.

Present

მე სვამ            I drink                                                   ჩვენ სვამთ   we drink

me vsvam                                                                            chven vsvamt

შენ სვამ           you drink                                             თქვენ სვამთ   you drink

shen svam                                                                          tkven svamt

ის სვამს           he/she drinks                                      ისინი სვამენ   they drink

is svams                                                                               isini svamen

Past 

მე დალიე           I drank                                                  ჩვენ დალიე   we drank

me davlie                                                                             chven davliet

შენ  დალიე          you drank                                      თქვენ დალიე   you drank

shen dalie                                                                            tkven daliet

მას დალი            he/she drank                                  მათ დალიე   they drank

mas dalia                                                                          mat dalies

 

Future

მე დალე            I will drink                                     ჩვენ დალევ   we will drink

me davlev                                                                            chven davlevt

შენ დალე          you drink                                     თქვენ დალე   you will  drink

shen dalev                                                                          tkven dalevt

ის და          he/she will drink                      ისინი დალეენ   they will drink

is dalevs                                                                              isini daleven

As you might see from the transcription, Georgian has unusual combinations of letters to an English ear. ვსვამ! (vsvam)

მე ვსვამ ჩაის (me vsvam chais) I drink tea or I am drinking tea

We also looked at words for the family brother-in-law is the same as son-in-law (სიძე) .

Two recent factors will help my Georgian, I hope.

In September. I moved to Varketili (Var ketili means I am kind in Georgian), my mother- in -law, Zoia, moved in, she speaks very little English, so if we are to communicate, I need to learn Georgian. Also my hours at the French school have been greatly reduced this year, which is good for my Georgian. Before when I was thinking in “foreign” I was thinking in French, now I use Georgian more in daily life than French.

The longest journey starts with a single step.

I need to get motivated and learn Georgian….

 

 

 

5 comments

  1. There is no real difference between sma and daleva. They are “drink” in different forms. Sort of like “go” and “went”. The same word, but with very different shape in different tenses.

Please comment, all comments gratefully received

