New Year’s Resolutions

People have been making resolutions for thousands of years. Even the ancient Greeks and Romans made promises to their gods at the beginning of a new year. 

Setting New Year’s resolutions doesn’t have to be a daunting experience. It’s the perfect opportunity to sit down and set short- and long-term goals. It’s time to decide what things in your life you want to improve and how to go about doing it.

Last year I made the resolution to have functional Georgian by the end of the year. Sadly like most resolutions this wasn’t kept. There were some spurts of interest but not the sustained study and effort necessary to keep this resolution. So, this will be carried on to 2014. I can start with the goal of reading two books in Georgian by the end of January.

1. Be specific – General and vague goals often go by the wayside. In 2014, my fiftieth year, I’d like to make the pilgrimage to Compostela. I will need to walk regularly to get myself prepared for two weeks of walking (I’m thinking of taking the route from Porto to Compostela : 2 weeks, 285 miles or 458km). I walk around an hour each day but I ve never walked for a long distance over several days.

2. Track progress – Using a chart is a great way to keep motivation high. I do have a notebook bought in 1990, where I keep records of the books I’ve read, lengths I’ve swum, model cars purchased etc…

3. Work together – Setting goals with someone else is a great way to motivate each other and be accountable. Never having smoked, I don’t need to give up, but understand it is easier if you give up with someone else.

4. Be realistic – Finally, goals have to be realistic. Someone who has never run a day in her life can’t run a marathon tomorrow.

HAPPY NEW YEAR!

Please comment, all comments gratefully received

