Music

Between my teens and my early thirties music was a big deal for me. I went to a lot of gigs (almost 300) and spent a lot of money on records, tapes and CDs. I also worked for a while in Our Price Music stores in London and Oxford. Now music is less of an obsession. This year I ve been to just two gigs: Deep Purple in Tbilisi and The Claze in Cornwall. I don’t buy music any more, if I want to hear something I’ll probably search on Youtube. I have an MP3 player with a selection of my favourite music on.

On my 1GB MP3 player (200 tunes) I have a selection of my most essential tunes this is essentially a snapshot of the music I like it is quite diverse…I’m wondering if I’m missing anything …10 000 Maniacs (6 tracks), Abba, Adele, Blur, Bob Marley, Clash (3), Cranberries, Cult, Culture Club, Cure (2), David Bowie, Dead Kennedys, Deep Purple, Dillinger, Doors, ELO (4), Echo and the Bunnymen, Eloy, Elvis Presley, Eminem, Evanessence, Faithless (2), Fleetwood Mac (2), Foreigner, Fugees, Gary Numan and Tubeway Army, Gnarls Barkley, Green Day, Haysi Fantaysee, House of Love, Human League, Ida Maria, Jam, Jefferson Airplane, Jesus and Mary Chain, John Denver, Johnny Cash (8), Joy Division (3), Katrina and the Waves, Kate Bush, Kinks, Lady Gaga, Landscape, Lena, Lou Reed, Madonna (2), Marillion, Men without Hats, Metallica, Midnight Oil, Mobiles, Motorhead, New Model Army (8), New Order, Nirvana (2), No Doubt, Noir Desir, Only Ones, Patti Smith, Pit Bull, Pixies, Placebo, Police, Pretenders (2), Primal Scream, Psychadelic Furs (3), Radiohead, Rainbow, Rammstein (6), Ramones, REM, Rihanna, Rolling Stones, Roseanne Cash (11), Rush, Seal, Sex Pistols, Shakira (2), Sheryl Crow, Sinead O Connor, Siouxsie and the Banshees (6), Sisters of Mercy (5), Skeletal Family, Smiths (3), Soft Cell, Spandau Ballet, Specials, Steve Earle (8), Stone Roses, Streisand, Barbara, Suzi Quatro (3), Tatu (8), Teardrop Explodes, Thin Lizzy, Third World, Toyah, U2 (5), Ultravox, Vapors, Verve (2), Visage, Waterboys, Willie Nelson and Yabby U. …to which have been added on your suggestions…Linkin Park, Avenged Sevenfold, PWEI and…er…Mel C !

Please comment, all comments gratefully received

